Have you been affected by the floods? Resources available.
Watch for signs of Foot and Mouth Disease and Lumpy Skin Disease. View more information

Australian Milk Quality Awards

Dairy Australia’s Milk Quality Awards recognise farms across Australia with an annual average bulk milk cell count (BMCC) in the lowest 5% during the financial year (1 July 2021 to 30 June 2022). 
The awards have been running since 2002 with the goal of celebrating and bringing industry recognition to the highest quality milk producers across Australia. 

To be eligible, dairy farms must have BMCC data for a minimum of nine months which is then supplied by their processor to Dairy Australia. BMCC results for each collection are then used to calculate the annual average BMCC for each farm and the winners are the top 5% of farms with the lowest BMCC. 

The top 100 farms in the list with the lowest BMCC each receive a gold plaque for their farm gate and all others farms in the top 5% receive a silver plaque. 

The Awards enable the industry to celebrate success. It is a great collaboration between dairy companies and Dairy Australia's Countdown program. 

2022 Milk Quality Award winners 

The 2022 winners of Dairy Australia’s Milk Quality Awards have been announced, showcasing dairy farmers in the top five per cent nationwide for milk quality, based on bulk milk cell count (BMCC). 

The Milk Quality Awards show Aussie farmers are continuing to deliver high-quality milk and safeguarding the health of their animals. 

Dairy Australia is continuing to support farmers to build the skills of their people on-farm, improve their milk quality and prevent udder infections through world-renowned animal health programs such as Countdown and training courses such as Countdown MQ and Milking and Mastitis Management (CoCo 2.0). 

Dairy farmers can access milk quality resources and training programs by contacting their local Dairy Australia’s regional team. 


20 years of celebrating Australia’s highest quality milk producers

Check out the list of 2022 Australian Milk Quality Awards winners.
Dairy Australia’s 2022 Australian Milk Quality Awards

Data for the awards is generously provided annually by farms’ milk processors. 

Dairy Australia gratefully acknowledges the following processors for provision of data for the awards: 

  • AC Milk 
  • Australian Dairy Farmers Cooperative 
  • Bega Cheese 
  • Beston Global Foods 
  • Brownes Dairy 
  • Bulla Dairy Foods 
    Burra Foods 
  • Cadbury (Mondelez) 
  • Coles 
  • Fleurieu Milk Company 
  • Fonterra Australia 
  • Kyvalley Dairy Group 
  • La Casa Del Formaggio 
  • Lactalis Australia 
  • Norco 
  • Noumi 
  • Richmond Dairies 
  • Riverina Fresh Pty ltd  
  • Saputo Dairy Australia 
  • SW Dairy 
  • Union Dairy Company 

Every effort has been made to ensure farm names and regions are listed correctly. For any corrections, please contact Dairy Australia. 

Winners are notified by e-mail, and gold and silver plaques  will be distributed by each Dairy Australia regional team. If you have not yet received your plaque, please contact your local regional team.. 

Milk processors wanting to participate in the 2023 Australian Milk Quality Awards should contact countdown@dairyaustralia.com.au

You're viewing the Dairy Australia website. To view regional dairy information, select a region.
Cookies help Dairy Australia improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.